IPL 2019: Virat Kohli 2nd Indian batsman to score 8000 runs in T20 cricket

first_imgIndia and Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli has become the second batsman from the country to complete 8,000 runs in T20 cricket after Chennai Super Kings star Suresh Raina.However, Virat Kohli reached the landmark quicker than Suresh Raina. Kohli scored his 8000th run in his 256th match while Suresh Raina needed 300 matches.Only five batsman apart from Kohli and Raina have more than 8000 runs in T20 cricket. T20 great and Kings XI Punjab opener Chris Gayle has 12, 417 runs and is the only batsman to have score more than 10,000 runs in the shortest format of the game.Former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum is second on the list with 9922 runs while Mumbai Indians star Kieron Pollard is third with 9063 runs. Pakistan veteran Shoaib Malik and Australian opener David Warner complete the top five.Virat Kohli had become the second man to score 5000 runs in the Indian Premier League when he went past 46 during the IPL 2019 match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians in Bengaluru.Kohli had also become the fastest batsman to get to the milestone as he brought up his 5000th run in his 166th match and 158th innings. Raina had reached the milestone in 177 matches and 173 innings.Also Read | Chris Gayle brings good vibes and pranks to Kings XI Punjab dressing room: KL RahulAlso Read | KL Rahul very respectful towards women, says Preity ZintaAlso Watch | R Ashwin on Mankading in IPL 2019: My conscience is very clear after the incidentlast_img read more