ICC World Twenty20: 35 matches, 7 venues

first_imgIndia will be hosting the ICC World Twenty20 for the first time starting from March to April 3. The sixth edition of the tournament will be played in seven venues with 16 teams competing for the title.Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, NagpurThe Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium was built in 2008 and after its inauguration it replaced the old Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground as the main stadium in the city. Former international cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne have lauded the ground for its top-class facilities. The seating capacity at the ground in 45,000. The first match (Test) was played at this venue between India and Australia in November 2008 and the last match was also Test between India and South Africa in November 2015.  Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, DharamsalaHimachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium or HPCA Stadium is the most picturesque cricket venue in India, situated at an altitude of 1,457 m above sea level. The first match at this venue was an ODI between India and England in January 2013 and the last match being a T20I between India and South Africa in 2015. The ground has a seating capacity of 23,000. Eden Gardens, KolkataEden Gardens is second-largest cricket stadium in the world behind the Melbourne Cricket Ground with a seating capacity of 66,000. The first recorded Test at the venue was held in 1934, and its first one-day international in 1987. The Eden is home ground to Bengal Ranji Trophy team and IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders. Wankhede Stadium, MumbaiThe Wankhede Stadium was built in 1974 and the first Test match was played between India and West Indies in January 1975. The ground is home ground of Mumbai Ranji team and IPL franchise Mumbai Indians. India won the World Cup 2011 beating Sri Lanka at this venue. Wankhede’s seating capacity is 33,108.advertisement M Chinnaswamy Stadium, BangaloreThe venue is home ground to Karnataka state team and IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore. The first Test was played at this stadium between India and West Indies in November 1974. The Chinnaswamy has a seating capacity of 35,000.Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, MohaliIt is popularly referred to as the Mohali Stadium with a seating capacity of 26,950. The first Test match at this ground was held between India and West Indies on December 10, 1994. The last Test match was played very recently last year between India and South Africa, which the hosts won by 108 runs. Feroz Shah Kotla, DelhiBeing established in 1883, it is the second oldest international cricket stadium in India after the Eden Gardens. The ground has given lot of memorable moments and the notable ones are Anil Kumble’s 10 wickets in an innings against Pakistan and Sachin Tendulkar scoring his 35th Test ton. The official seating capacity of Kotla is 41,820.last_img read more